what is drone-racing?

FPV drone-racing is a sport, in which quadcopter-pilots race each other on a secured track to finish a given obstacle-course as fast as possible. The drones are flown from a first-person-view (FPV). Cameras are attached to the quadcopter and the video is sent during the flight to a monitor or more often to video-glasses. That way the pilot experiences the flight from the point of the drone, like he is sitting in the cockpit.

The first drone-races were held at the end of 2014 in Australia as an amateur sport.

the pilots

Everybody can become a FPV-Pilot no matter the age or gender. The youngest successful pilots in the racing scene are around nine years old and there are also girls flying the drones. There are no special prerequisites but having technical knowledge and interest is an advantage.

There is no typical FPV-Pilot. Pilots from all walks of life are participating. Everybody is welcome.

technical details

The quadcopter is a flight device, which gets its necessary drive and lift from four independently controllable motors. Through the different control of the motors the vector of the thrust can be changed, which leads to movement on the vertical and horizontal axis. To rise and fall, the overall thrust of all motors is evenly increased or decreased. Because there are the same amount of motors that spin clockwise and counterclockwise, the torque around the vertical axis gets neutralized. If a rotation around this axis is needed, the number of revolutions of one group of motors has to be increased over the other ones. The calculation for these maneuvers is done by the flight controller.

The flight controller is one of the most important components of the drone, since it’s not possible to achieve a stable flight with manual control over the individual motors. The flight controller is permanently measuring the deviation between the current and the desired attitude with an inertial measurement unit (IMU), which is a compilation of sensors that measure the movement and tilt of the drone. With the given information the flight controller adjusts the amount of revolutions. Because brushless-motors require an electric rotation-field, every motor has its own electronic speed controller (ESC), which controls the amount of revolutions of the motors through variation in the frequency of its rotation-field.

How calm and stable a copter flies depends a lot on the drone-basics and especially on the used flight controller and firmware. Powerful quadcopters can reach velocities up to 160 km/h and with special tuning can go even beyond that. Most of the time these compact flight devices are assembled and configured on a computer by the pilots themselves. That way the drone behaves exactly according to the pilots’ needs.

Qu'est-ce que la course de drones?

La course de drones FPV est un sport dans lequel les pilotes de quadricoptères se font la course sur une piste sécurisée pour finir le plus rapidement possible une course à obstacles donnée. Les drones sont pilotés à partir d’une vue à la première personne (FPV). Les caméras sont attachées au quadricoptère et la vidéo est envoyée pendant le vol à un moniteur ou plus souvent à des lunettes vidéo. De cette façon, le pilote fait l’expérience du vol depuis le point du drone, comme s’il était assis dans le cockpit.

Les premières courses de drones ont eu lieu fin 2014 en Australie en tant que sport amateur.

les pilotes

Tout le monde peut devenir pilote FPV, peu importe son âge ou son sexe. Les plus jeunes pilotes à succès sur la scène des courses ont environ neuf ans et il y a aussi des filles pilotant des drones. Il n’y a pas de prérequis particuliers, mais avoir des connaissances techniques et de l’intérêt est un avantage.

Il n’y a pas de pilote FPV typique. Des pilotes de tous les horizons y participent. Tout le monde est le bienvenu.

détails techniques

The quadcopter is a flight device, which gets its necessary drive and lift from four independently controllable motors. Grâce aux différentes commandes des moteurs, le vecteur de la poussée peut être modifié, ce qui entraîne un mouvement sur les axes vertical et horizontal. Pour monter et descendre, la poussée globale de tous les moteurs est augmentée ou diminuée de manière uniforme. Étant donné que le même nombre de moteurs tourne dans le sens horaire et antihoraire, le couple autour de l’axe vertical est neutralisé. Si une rotation autour de cet axe est nécessaire, le nombre de tours d’un groupe de moteurs doit être augmenté par rapport aux autres. Le calcul de ces manœuvres est effectué par le contrôleur de vol.

Le contrôleur de vol est l’un des composants les plus importants du drone, car il n’est pas possible de réaliser un vol stable avec un contrôle manuel de chaque moteur. Le contrôleur de vol mesure en permanence l’écart entre le courant et l’attitude souhaitée avec une unité de mesure inertielle (IMU), une compilation de capteurs qui mesurent le mouvement et l’inclinaison du drone. Avec les informations fournies, le contrôleur de vol ajuste la quantité de tours. Étant donné que les moteurs sans balais nécessitent un champ de rotation électrique, chaque moteur dispose de son propre contrôleur de vitesse électronique (ESC), qui contrôle la quantité de tours des moteurs par la variation de la fréquence de son champ de rotation.

Le calme et la stabilité d’un hélicoptère dépend beaucoup des bases du drone, et en particulier du contrôleur de vol et du firmware utilisés. Les quadcoptères puissants peuvent atteindre des vitesses allant jusqu’à 160 km / h et avec un réglage spécial, ils peuvent même aller au-delà. La plupart du temps, ces appareils de vol compacts sont assemblés et configurés sur un ordinateur par les pilotes eux-mêmes. De cette façon, le drone se comporte exactement en fonction des besoins des pilotes.